New member: Erythromelalgia or rosacea?

I have been battling with my condition for about 7 years. I had a battery of tests for allergies, and eventually my GP diagnosed (at my suggestion) that I had a nasty case of rosacea. Now however, I'm not so sure.

I am suffering an extreme flare up - I arrived in Australia, Gold Coast, to visit my son, a week ago, from the UK. It was unseasonably hot. Within 3-4 days I knew for sure I was going to have a flare. And, sadly, this has been the worst one I've had for years - in fact the most similar was the first time I had it.

There is a very distinct pattern to a flare..so if you can bear with me I'll describe it, as just maybe it might help someone to identify it as one thing over another - ie is it rosacea or erythromelalgia.

I can 'feel' it coming..I get a distinctive tingling in my flesh, particularly in my lips and in my 'nose to mouth' creases. Then my face starts to heat up, and it gets really properly burningly hot, and of course it goes very very very red. It hurts. Then it swells up (in the attached pictures the swelling has actually gone down a bit). That hurts too. This time the swelling went right up into my eye sockets. I looked like I'd been in a punch up. The pain is an intense burning sensation, there's some itchiness, and there's a sort of deep ache..that's not quite right..it's so tender and ultra sensitive, even to just moving around normally hurts in this odd aching way.

I manage it by trying to cool it with damp cloths, splash cool water on, sometimes I freeze a bottle with water and use that as a cooling pack - this brings real relief (I am quite careful to not go overboard with very icy cooling as I know that can be damaging, but it's hard sometimes as I simply feel like my face is on fire).