Question on Pain Relief vs Preventing/Reversing Progression

I'm new to an EM diagnosis though my rheumotologist believes it is primary, likely genetic. I also have Raynauds and migraines. My EM has progressed to my hands this week. I'm about to try my third type of treatment (Mg was a big fail for me~ symptoms worsened, cymbalta=questionable). After scouring these discussions I have a burning question (bad joke- I know...trying to stay positive:~).

Seems like some meds are really aimed at pain relief and lessening flares. Am thinking topical creams and even the SSRIs would fall in this category? I say SSRIs because much of the new research shows that pain is felt in the emotion center of our brain and that SSRIs are preventing this activation. Maybe I'm totally off though I also remember my primary physician gave me cymbalta when the neuropathy first occurred and also suggested that it works at the brain center rather than actually reducing symptoms.

Are other meds then more oriented toward prevention of symptoms? I'm thinking the Mg, calcium channel antagonists, maybe the allergy meds?

Hoping others can weigh in....obviously we want both pain relief and prevention but I don't want my doctor to get so focused on pain prevention that we don't focus on prevention. Any ideas on other low-hanging fruit for prevention (i.e. low side-effect) absolutely welcome. Was thinking zyrtec or loratadine next.... Also starting to look into dietary factors.

In gratitude to my new EM family.

Hi Dorothy in Michigan.

Glad you're part of this online group. You raise an important question--which meds are simply for pain relief and which are to deal with the root cause. But, I don't think the answer is a simple one.