ADHD, sensory integration issues and erythromelalgia

Does anyone else here see a connection between these. If EM is such a rare disorder, why are so many kids with the above symptoms/diagnosis having EM?

Our Doctor says it is not related to the meds. Never thought my child had ADHD, but a hypersensitive neurological system. Could that all be part of the EM "syndrome"?

Just searching.......

Hi Jame
That's a really interesting thought !
I'm diagnosed with ADHD / ADD-PI and sensory processing disorder.
I was diagnosed as an adult ( just two years ago ) but have had the same symptoms from these two disorders since childhood.
It certainly would make sense if somehow it all related back to a neurological issue / hypersensitive neurological system.

1 Like

As a physician, I am very interested in this connection. It cannot be a coincidence that such a rare disorder has that common of a link. Did you get tested for the genetic mutation? I am wondering if that is also in common.

The neurologist here has only seen a couple cases of this in his career and he just wants to throw the pain meds at him which I really do not like to do, but will for now until there is a better solution. I myself am a doctor and I had never even heard of it after 25 years of practice. When my son was diagnosed Tuesday, I wondered immediately if there was a link between his CNS/PNS system issues.

Thank you for sharing.

Jame,