Effexor and creepy crawly

currently taking effexor … 70mg ish

maybe it’s helping with the flares… maybe it’s the weather turning, i don’t know

however i am now overwhelmed with pins and needles in my feet and hands. a creepy crawly tingle that overwhelms my thoughts. tho sometimes i just imagine it’s the feeling blood flowing properly instead of pooling and burning and/or raynauds.

Hey Cherry - I’ve never noticed the sensation you describe w/ effexor. I know I had pins/needles feeling when I was low in b12 though at one point.

Is Effexor used to treat erythromelalgia? I have been on it for 10 years (for anxiety) and was just (possibly) diagnosed with EM. I take 150 mg/day. I get the pins and needles feeling when I miss a dose. The withdrawal is horrible. I’m new to EM so I don’t know much about it or the treatments. But Effexor doesn’t seem to help me. I get burning red feet when I’m hot, but get cold blue/purple feet when I’m cold. My rheumatologist (I have celiac and psoriatic arthritis) saw my blue toes at my last appointment and said “you have Raynaud’s.” I told him I also get red burning feet and he said, that may be erythromelalgia. That’s all he said… nothing more! I definitely feel like my lower legs and feet have vascular issues even though my circulation is fine.

Venlafaxine (brand name Effexor) is approved for the treatment of depression, general anxiety disorder, social phobia, panic disorder, and vasomotor symptoms.

“Vasomotor” refers to actions upon a blood vessel which alter its diameter.

Uses for Venlafaxine:
Vasomotor Symptoms
Management of vasomotor symptoms in women with breast cancer and in postmenopausal women; improved both frequency and severity of vasomotor symptoms (hot flushes [flashes]