Foot Surgery and EM

Has anyone had foot surgery and needed to have bandages, cast and boot for 6-10 weeks following surgery and how have they managed the EM in that foot. I am delaying surgery on a painful and very arthritic degenerative joint (fusion + plate/screws) because having had this on other foot I know how long the foot is in bandages etc. Now that the EM is constant but not as severe as many who write in, I am very hesitant to proceed. Any input from others with this situation?

I am no expert but have been hanging around hospitals a good bit lately, fracture clinic and physio. The latest boots and odd looking leg supports which appear to be taking the place of a cast make me wonder whether if you talk to the doctor you may find that this time round you can get away without the cast and the boot can be much more open than in the past. My daughter’s recent operations in her arthritic toe joints have needed much less heavy bandaging than I was expecting considering what she was having done.
Good luck with the decision but as Tizzy said, swelling is a part of EM and they need to be asked to make allowances for it as well as for the heat.

Thanks to everyone who has posted to this discussion. I think the comment that the EM may decrease when the joint gets better because the OA is under better control is very possible. Right now the joint is bone on bone and I have OA and EM pain in that foot. I am just reluctant to have the bandaging on that foot as even wearing socks is very uncomfortable. I did have the big rigid ski boot with foam/neoprene insert that I used so I can take it off - but still had some bandages under that. I will try for minimum. Surgery is day surgery so no hospital care possible. Seattle girly

Seattlegirl said: