The Big Scary Question. I'm gonna get the nerve to ask it :)

Since I am relatively new to this EM, I've been worrying about what the prognosis is. I can't seem to find anything about a typical outcome. I have read a few scary things about ulcers, gangrene,etc. I'm wondering what the EM will do to my hands in the long run....or is this something that we just don't know. I'd love to hear from people who have had this for a long time. (of course I'd love to hear from others as well). Ok, there it is... I asked it. Now my hands will probably turn red (they turn red if I get stressed, so unfortunately the thought of the EM causes stress, and then in turn makes the EM worse. It's a vicious cycle!

Thanks for any info.

I wonder this, too. I have had EM for a little over 3 years and I am in my twenties, so I am really afraid of what will happen over time. It seems there is no consensus, and when we stop hearing from people, I always wonder if it is because they've found decent treatment and have lives now, or if EM has killed them, or made them unable to move or communicate. It seems no one knows, and I'm with you - the mystery is terrifying.

I don’t know for sure but I think everyone’s EM is different. Some people stay the same over time and some get worse. I would like to think that some also get better. I have been symptomatic since Jan or Feb 2011. A little over 3 years and I’ve seen mine get better and worse and everywhere in between. I admit when it first started happening I too was concerned mainly because it felt as if my veins would littered burst in turn possibly killing me. After the m a no times I have gone through this and there has been no serious permanent consequence I am now of the understanding it won’t actually kill us or anything like that . I also have never heard of anyone dying from this condition and with the Internet I would think we would have heard something if it were happening.
Hope this sets your mind at ease.
Take care
Alina