EM is ruining my life?!

I got diagnosed a year ago with EM on my hands, and it’s ruining my life right now because of the stress and anxiety I get from the embarassment of my hands being bright red. I am in my 2nd year of college and I work in a customer service job using my hands with computers etc. It’s negatively impacting my social interactions and I have missed classes because of the social anxiety it causes to the point I can’t focus on the lesson only on the fear of others looking at my hands. Or when I went to my friends birthday dinner my hands were under the table and I couldnt even hold a menu. I am afraid to bring attention to myself in social situations for fear of bringing attention to my hands. I have a topical I use from the Mayo clinic that works for a few minutes for flare ups but I can’t put that on every minute but it’s not reliable. Does anyone with raynauds or EM ever had to deal with this or have any advice? This makes me depressed and miserable I will take any sugestions! Thank you!

Hi Josh12

I am new to this group and it’s my daughter who suffers from EM but I know that stress and anxiety can actually exacerbate flare ups. My daughter is seeing a Clinical Psychologist to help deal with the anxiety, just wondered if you had tried to go down this route yet? Might be worth a go.

I have been thinking about talking to someone like a psychologist or psychiatrist for a while and was given a list of possible people to talk to from my rheumatologist. Does your daughter take anxiety med?

Hi Josh, my EM was caused by a B12 deficiency due to pernicious anemia. Have you had yours tested? Doctors don’t usually think to check it. It needs to be in the upper half of the range, at least 500 pg/mL or you could be deficient. For some reason, the low cutoff used by traditional doctors is far too low, there are many incidences of people having neurological symptoms when their B12 is in the normal range, yet treatment alleviates their symptoms.

Josh,