New EM last 6 months - likely post COVID

Hello everyone,

I am a mid 40’s male - I am new to the group. I am a scientist, I study how disease occur, so I have some insight into this disease of mine (ours).

I have new onset, relatively classic EM mixed with pernio/Chilblains. Essentially had no medical problems prior to this - played hockey, hiking, mountain biking, great shape, etc…

Earlier this year I had some very mild symptoms (headache, small fever) and had a borderline positive COVID-19 test when COVID-19 testing was just beginning (so accuracy of this is unclear). A few weeks later, I developed what looked exactly like COVID-19 toes. No EM symptoms, but toes were cool. A few week after that I noticed in retrospect the gradual EM symptoms starting, with intense heating of the toes.

It it is all in the toes (perhaps a bit of ear flushing). The toes are worse with heat, shoes, feet hanging down, worse in the am and late PM, and improved with raising feet (over head). I have symptoms evert day, multiple times per day. I saw everyone, as I am in the medical profession - every specialty, including remote visits with the folks at Mayo, other leading centres in canada and the US. All blood work, autoimmune panels, negative. I had a work-up for other causes of EM, also negative as far as you can tell. I had research blood work, that demonstrated some blood proteins are higher than they should be - but none of us know what to make of it. I wonder if others with EM / pernio have similar, but would need research study to test this.

I have tested mutation negative for EM, as I had some hot hands as a kid I recall.

Nerve conductions tests normal, however still waiting on results of small fiber nerve conduction tests (testing to heat/cold response).