Pain Doc thinks Spinal Nerve Block could help EM pain

I recently got a new Doc who specializes in Back, Spine and pain management. Upon doing a nerve test, he saw an abnormally high level in my lower spine. He ordered an MRI to see the severity of the L5 and scheduled an epidural nerve block. Explaining that the nerve block very well could take care of most if not all of the EM pain!

I will keep you all posted.

Please post any input you have, questions or concerns.

Thanks for reading

Novi

Hello again novi. I am sorry to say I have no experience with this procedure so I can't help you out there but I believe there have been discussions on this before I just am not sure where. If you go to the search link here and put in Spinal nerve block you should find some past discussions on the subject and hopefully someone with some knowledge on the subject will respond here too.

I hope it goes well and does the job. Please do keep us posted.

Take care,

Alina

Dear novi,

I found an article describing a similar treatment (as far as I understand) and attached it below. In the case described all EM symptoms decreased along with the pain, The authors also mention less successful reports on similar kinds of treatment. Could you post more details on the intended epidural nerve block?

Thanks and Good luck!

Ben

203-StrickerGreenresolutionofrefractorysymptomsofsecondEMwithintermittentepiduralbupivacaine.pdf (40.5 KB)

Dear Novi,

We have just spoken, but to reiterate, there are so many understandings of 'blocks' .

Spinal cord stimulator - I know of one person who affirms spinal cord stimulator helped the management of EM.

Epidurals - research shows some success with symptomatic relief in paediatrics.

Sympathetic blocks - limited success treating certain cases of EM (usually secondary).

One member Mick has had some experience with 'blocks' so we will contact him to hopefully join the discussion and offer his insight.