Thoughts of getting a sympathectomy?

I am 28 but have had EM since I was 9. I am putting my husband through school and have to work. the pain in almost unbearable if I don't take gabapentin. I am afraid of eventually becoming disabled from the pain. We want to have 3 kids and can't take all the medications that treat EM while childbearing. I am a psychiatric nurse.

Is worth getting the surgery to cut the nerves that transmit the pain.

If anyone has had the surgery or knows someone please tell me if they are glad they had it and why they wish they didn't. I know it's extreem but I don't know what to do.

I haven't had the surgery but my neurologist advised me that there is no guarantee that the surgery will work. I had sympathetic nerve block which temporarily blocks those nerves. I had some relief but not total relief. Which led my neurologist to warn me if I had it done there was the possibility that sympathectomy might not work for me.

Not sure if that helps you any but just wanted to tell you what little I know about it.

Your friend, Tollie Esslinger Godwin

Doesn't that only block the big nerve(s) and not the small fiber peripheral nerves which are implicated in EM? I'm thinking it may only work if part of the problem is large fiber neuropathy or CRPS, but I'm not certain about that. I have heard of people trying the more temporary never block to test out whether the surgery is likely to help.

terrific post and discussion.

I've had EM since I was seven. The guy who diagnosed me told my dad (a doctor), "Never let anyone sympathectomise her". I had a trial one and it made the pain worse.

If you plan to have children you might want to think about being tested for the SCN9A genetic mutation that causes inherited EM. If you carry it, there's a 50% chance of your child having EM. It's very rare, even among us rare bods who developed EM as under-10s.