Will heat/sun make EM worse in the long run

I’ve been avoiding sun and heat. Some days I think I’d rather deal with the pain and just go outside. My condition seems somewhat mild compared to what I’ve seen. (I do have many other medical conditions though) I am worried that the sun/heat will make my condition permanently worse though. Has anyone found this to be the case?

I am not an expert. I don't think the heat and sun do any kind of permanent damage. But I think it is more than you may be more uncomfortable for a while when you are out and after you return home. Let's see what others say. I still am working full time so I have to travel to and from work. It is not the actual heat as much as it is the exertion which causes my EM to flare.

Hope you get some more replies.

J

It depends on what time and the conditons that day. I wouldn't go for a walk in the sun from 10 am to 4 pm in the height of an Australian summer. But early mornings and late afternoons are often fine with me as long as I'm wearing a hat etc. It depends on the day. I have accidently gotten burnt twice in winter in the past few years -- on my arms and shoulders. One time it happened because I was sitting by the water with a hat on etc but was wearing a light, white cotton Indian top with a tank top underneath and dark trousers. The sun burned through the clothing where the tank top didn't cover my skin under the light indian cotton top. Although I got sunburned -- not badly - but enough to feel too hot on my arms and have a 'pink glow' (ugh!)etc I did not seem to suffer a permanent problem from it.

My avoidance of the sun in the middle of the day (it's just an instinctive avoidance, it's all too bright and strong and hot) has meant I have low vit d levels.

The vitamin D is key I had staggeringly low vitamin D because of sun avoidance
Vitamin D is essential for iron and zinc absorbtion in the intestine - I have found that my condition is even more irradic when my vitamins aren’t perfect